The Dark Awakening (The Chosen Coven Book 1) by D.L. Blade

Book Blurb:

The Dark Awakening has hit #1 in Amazon’s Top 100 Best Sellers for Vampire Suspense!

I loved her once, but then the town of Salem hung her on Gallows Hill.

Now that she’s been brought back, she struggles to remember who and what she is.

She’s afraid. 

She’s afraid of me. 

A dark force is also stalking her, but I will do whatever it takes to protect her from whoever is lurking in the shadows.


“This book had me in another world without realizing I’d left my own.”


Just as Mercy pieces her life back together after a vicious attack, she notices a stranger lingering in the shadows, and watching her every move.

Mercy isn’t certain if what she’s seeing is real, but when Mercy crashes her car on the side of the road, she’s rescued by a handsome and mysterious man named Caleb, who she finds herself both drawn to, and afraid of.

Caleb reveals to Mercy that she’s strongly linked to an ancient coven; the roots slowly dragging her back to Salem. He also claims to be in love with her, but can she trust him?

This story takes you on a journey of magic, secrets, betrayal, and abduction, in a world filled with witches, vampires and werewolves, which Mercy and her friends never knew existed.

Mercy must discover who she truly is, and find the powers within her to save mankind.

Author Notes & Disclaimer:

Violence and mild language.

This will be a three-book series. This is the first book in The Chosen Coven Trilogy. Book two is called The Dark Underworld.

My Review:

This is the first book in a fantastic paranormal series. It is full of witches, vampires, demons and werewolves. This book will pull you in to a whole new world and leave you craving so much more. You are guaranteed to be taken on a rollercoaster ride of emotions as you dive further into this fantastic paranormal world.

Up until recently Mercy’s life was completely normal. Her best friends Shannon and Cami are cheerleaders along with Mercy and they are popular at school. Riley is her best friend and has had feelings for Mercy for a long time but they are taking things slowly. Until one day Mercy’s life is turned upside down when her mum tries to kill her and everything changes. She goes to live with her Aunt Lily but is left crippled with anxiety, struggling to allow anyone near and refuses to let Riley touch her. She is trying to hold on until she graduates in two weeks’ time. Meanwhile, her nights are stolen by a gorgeous boy who she cannot stop dreaming of, but she is falling in love with him the more she sees.

After feeling like she is constantly being followed Mercy ends up in a car accident and is pulled out by a gorgeous young guy who doesn’t stick around long afterwards. But what is equally as strange is that Mercy was sure the car accident resulted in her leg being broken, and yet by the times she realises the boy has left, she doesn’t even have a scratch on him. When the mystery man finally introduces himself as Caleb he opens Mercy’s eyes to a whole world that she didn’t even know exists.

Mercy discovers that she is a witch, but not just any, she is a Chosen One. In the past an angel blessed five families in Salem with a child who could wield their family element of earth, air, water, fire or spirit, better than anyone. Then other witches could draw strength from the Chosen ones. Their destiny is to band together as a coven and become immortal to give witches their power for all eternity. But before they could be joined as immortal Mercy died leaving the coven incomplete. Caleb, another Chosen One, has loved Mercy for centuries and will stop at nothing to bring her back. He tried with all of her past blood relatives but was not able to succeed until now.

Mercy’s mother knew her child was a powerful old soul and promised to raise Mercy and teach her how to harness her powers. Caleb promised to stay away until her 18th birthday, which is when a witch comes into their true powers, as it is not safe for a child to have that level of power. But Mercy’s mum could feel the power and that became addictive until she decided to keep the powers. But when Mercy experiences her awakening on her 18th birthday her mum will automatically lose the powers as they return to Mercy. So her mum will go to extreme lengths to make sure the awakening doesn’t happen.

Not only does Mercy have a whole new world and a murderous mother to live with, there is also vampires, werewolves, her current human life and a whole set of past memories to deal with. Mercy has to figure out who she was and who she is now, then work out how to combine that to make her someone strong enough to defeat the evil that is rising.

But on top of all the supernatural drama runs a very normal teenage love story, or rather a love triangle. Mercy has been in love with Caleb for years but in the past their parents objected to their relationship and they had to stop seeing each other. Caleb obeyed their parents and didn’t fight for Mercy. The same day this happens she meets a young, gorgeous vampire called Dorian, who also happens to be the guy who is haunting modern Mercy’s dreams. Dorian is kind and loving and he does not want to be a vampire. The more time that they spend together the more they fall in love and it develops into a strong and powerful love. But in this lifetime, Mercy is confused by her feelings and is unsure who she loves or who she should choose. She feels like her job in this life is to keep her loved ones safe and rid the world of the evil that threatens them. But can she do this and fall in love at the same time?

Overall, I really loved this book. It is very different from what I normally read but its dark, dangerous and gripping. As new characters, species and timelines are introduced, it is done in a very impressive way. Sometimes when reading paranormal books it is difficult to follow the plot and character species, but not this book. The writing style is clever and easy to follow. The characters are interesting and thoroughly unique. It is very clear there are more books in the series and this book ending definitely sets up the start of the next book. But I still finished the book with my mouth wide open in shock and I cannot wait to read the next book. I am sure it will be a fantastic sequel but this book has set an extremely high standard for it to follow.

Note: I received this ARC in exchange for an honest review.

This book is available for Free on Kindle Unlimited or can be purchased here:

Amazon UK: Amazon UK:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s